To Flag Index

The Duchies of Anhalt

Anhalt Infantry 1807-1815

Anhalt consisted of three minor German duchies neighbouring Prussia: Anhalt-Bernburg, Anhalt-Dessau and Anhalt-Köthen. All joined the confederation of the Rhine in 1807. The three states together provided one infantry battalion to the Confederation (1st Battalion 5th Regiment). The flag of this battalion was presented in 1807 and measured 80 x 70cm on a white flag staff with a gilt finial. This flag was destroyed at the combat of La Bisbal in Spain in September 1810. A new pattern flag was issued on the 14th May 1811. The Anhalt battalion capitulated at Danzig in 1813, but was allowed to keep its colours. Thereafter Anhalt joined the Allies.

Anhalt Infantry Flags

1807 Pattern

1811 Pattern

Please note that all flag images at Napflags will require resizing
to suit the miniature figure scale - See
Printing the flags

To Flag Index

email me feedback email me